Shawnigan's campus is spread across more than 300 acres nestled just to the north of the lake that shares the School's name. As visitors pass through a set of gates that remain open year-round in a symbolic gesture of welcome, the campus literally unfolds before their eyes. On the right, the Headmaster’s Residence gives way to Groves' and Copeman's Houses and the Alumni Garden; to the left, a cluster of trees offers shade to Lake's and Ripley's. Just beyond the serenity of the Kaye Gardens lies the iconic Main Building – the heartbeat of the Shawnigan community that occupies the same place it has since being rebuilt in 1927.
Surrounding the Main Building are the Hugh Wilkinson Studio Theatre, Marion Hall (the School's dining facility), the Shawnigan Chapel and the Hobbies Building. Students attend classes in three academic buildings, the Olsen Building (Languages), the Craig Block (Mathematics) and the Shaw Centre for Sciences. In addition to our nine boarding houses, the School also boasts a fully equipped Music Building and athletics facilities including nine full-sized playing fields and a Sportsplex with two gyms, six tennis courts, four squash courts, a weight room, a cardio room and a golf simulator.
Part of the magic of Shawnigan lies in the way the campus reveals itself to visitors. Perhaps this is the reason that alumni and parents alike return year after year. A picture may be worth a thousand words, but this campus is truly one that must be experienced in person.