List of 1 items.

  • Fiona Macfarlane, Chair

    Leadership, Strategy, Diversity & Inclusion, Governance
    Challenges what is, so that we can believe and achieve what could be.
    Fiona’s unwavering purpose is to challenge what is, so that we can believe and achieve what could be. Raised as a child in South Africa – at that time, a deeply divided and profoundly unequal society – immigrating to Canada afforded her the privilege to not only have a fulfilling career, but to advocate for a level playing field for all.
    Her 36-year career at Ernst & Young, has seen her progress from the Tax practice in Cape Town, to her most recent dual roles of Managing Partner of EY British Columbia and Canada’s Chief Inclusiveness Officer; where she advocated nationally for diversity and inclusion to be on the Board and CEO agenda as a critical business and talent issue.
    Along the way, she harnessed her love of business and entrepreneurial spirit leading the EY Americas and EY Canada Tax practices. Under her stewardship, EY’s Canada Tax practice saw a rate of growth that exceeded the industry’s at a time when sector growth was constrained by a serious lack of talent. Seeing the power of successful business to drive the economy, create jobs and ultimately increase the standard of living of Canadians, Fiona has made the growth of business a critical priority in each of her roles – not just in times of economic growth, but also through downturns.
    Fiona is absolutely driven to reap the rich rewards of an inclusive culture – diversity of thought, creativity, innovation and productivity. When Fiona was appointed Managing Partner of the Canada Tax Practice (with 850 tax professionals) in 2005, she was the first woman among the Big Four accounting firms to have held such a position. She worked tirelessly ever since to mentor and develop women and other excluded groups. To that end, she served on the advisory board of the President’s Group, an organization devoted to ensuring employment for people with disabilities and served on the board of the Immigrant Employment Council of British Columbia which works to ensure labour participation of immigrants.
    She is insatiably curious and particularly fascinated by the impact of evolving cultural and social trends. Due in no small part to her broad and eclectic range of interests, she is credited with having an ability to view evidence through an unconventional lens; to see patterns and to connect disparate dots to find opportunities that might otherwise be overlooked. She passionately leverages this skill in her work and in support of her community by serving as incoming Chair of Shawnigan Lake School, Canada’s largest boarding school. She is also the Vice- Chair of the British Columbia Chapter of the Institute of Corporate Directors.
    Previously, Fiona was a director of the Aboriginal Business Investment Council and the International Women’s Forum, Canada. She recently retired from the Executive and Board of Governors of the University of British Columbia where she served as Chair of the Employee Relations Committee. She served on the executive and Board of Governors of the BC Business Council and was also a member of the BC Ministry of Finance’s Expert Panel on Business Taxation.
    Fiona is recognized as one of the foremost experts and thought leaders on how to build a culture of inclusion in the workplace. She’s proud to have been named as one of Women of Influence’s Canadian Diversity Champions and inducted into the Hall of Fame of WXN Canada’s Top 100 Most Powerful Women. For her contributions to the CPA profession, she was awarded an honorary CA. She is in demand as a speaker on leadership, future skills, inclusiveness and diversity. She relishes using humour and storytelling to touch hearts and change minds.
    Fiona has a BA LLB and B.Com (Hons) University of Cape Town, South Africa and LLM from Cambridge University in the UK.

List of 1 items.

  • Jacqueline Flett, Vice-Chair

    Jacqueline is an alumna of Shawnigan Lake School, graduating in 1997 (Groves’). She studied history and philosophy at the University College of the Cariboo (predecessor to Thompson Rivers University), graduating with a B.A in 2001. Jacqueline was awarded an LLB from the University of British Columbia in 2004 and was called to the Bar of the Province of British Columbia in 2005.
    In 2011, Jacqueline Flett founded Flett Law, a forward- thinking law firm that focuses on value and fixed-fee billing, and leverages technology to make legal services accessible and cost-effective for all clients. In this capacity, Jacqueline acts as a trusted business advisor to private companies and professionals in a variety of industries.
    Since 2016, Jacqueline has also been a Director of the The Ghost CEO™, North America’s leader in business development coaching. In this role, Jacqueline is responsible for strategic planning, and oversight of The Ghost CEO’s ™ legal and accounting professional practice within North America. She specializes in designing, developing, and delivering leadership and sales training to legal and accounting professionals who excel at what they do, but don’t know how to talk about it!
    Jacqueline’s passion for helping people launch their ideas, build their businesses and grow their revenues can be traced back to her time at Shawnigan Lake School where she learned that all things are possible with the right teachers, the right habits, and a lot of sweat equity.
Andrew Purdey - Mill Bay, BC
Suzanne Boyd - Vancouver, BC
Carl Bradley - Seattle, WA
Bel Akinyosoye - Calgary, AB
David Schieldrop - New York, USA
Curt Sigfstead - San Fransisco, USA
Emily Wignes - Calgary, AB
Eduard Steidl - Seattle, USA
Janet Griesdale - Calgary, AB
Jack Colbourne - London, UK
Jennifer Mitchell - New York, USA
Kathryn Shaw - Calgary, AB
Kelly Creel Gave - Whistler, BC
Lisa Grover - Canmore, AB
Matt Brister - Calgary, AB Mike Waites - Vancouver, BC
Mark Brown - Kamloops, BC Rick Bourne - Vancouver, BC
Olli Lauren - Washington, DC Zev Shafran - Vancouver, BC
Sandra Scott - Vancouver, BC


List of 1 members.

Notice of Annual General Meeting
Saturday, October 26th, 2019 at 9:30 am PST
Shawnigan Lake School is an independent boarding school for Grades 8-12 on Canada's West Coast. Our modern, diverse and innovative programming helps shape the next generation of global leaders.